This post is also available in: Français (French)

Description, objectives

CERTES has a pool of experimental devices assigned to the QAI-STA theme, enabling measurements and analyzes / tests to be carried out for the physical characterization of aerosols under controlled conditions. The acquisition of this equipment was financed by investment bids from UPEC or the region, by contracts with EPICs, by ANR or other funding.

Aerosol concentration measurement devices

CERTES has means for measuring the number of concentrations in total aerosols: CNC-3022 (TSI) and CNC-3025 (TSI) to detect particles with diameters greater than 0.008 µm and 0.003 µm respectively.

The means for characterizing the particle size distribution of aerosols in number include a GRIMM optical counter (optical diameters between 0.3 and 20 μm) and two spectrometers: a PALAS-WELAS digital 2000 spectrometer for detecting particles with an optical diameter between 200 nm and 100 µm and a TSI / APS (Aerosol Particle sizer) particle time of flight spectrometer for particles between 0.5 and 20 µm. A 20-800 cascade impactor from Tisch Environmental allows gravimetric measurement to distribute and collect aerosols on 8 impact plates in the 0.43-10 µm size range.

Aerosol generation devices

Different devices allow aerosols to be generated: a TSI-3075 atomizer type polydispersed aerosol produces an aerosol of 0.02 to 0.3 µm with a concentration of 107 # / cm3. A TSI-VOAG 3450 monodispersed aerosol generator can generate in liquid or solid form in the range of 1 to 200 µm. The laboratory also has a drop generator allowing to simulate oropharyngeal emissions (drop size between 22 and 40 µm) with an aeraulic system allowing to produce a jet of turbulent air in conditions corresponding to respiration (1 m / s), speech (5 m / s), cough (10 m / s). These materials are associated with air filters for supplying TSI-3074B generators, accepting a flow rate of up to 56 L / min at 2 ° C with a maximum inlet pressure of 1000 kPa.

Aerosol sampling devices

Particulate collection (10 lpm) is possible by CIP 10-INRS collection devices fitted with a rotating plastic cup fitted with foam or directly in a liquid according to different versions available. A Coriolis µ air collector (Bertin instruments) based on cyclonic technology collects and concentrates airborne bioaerosol particles in a liquid with high air flow (300 lpm). The cascade impactor is used to pick up aerosols inhaled or breathed by inertial impaction.

Experimental benches and additional devices:

CERTES has built experimental benches for the measurement of aerosol interactions and deposits on surfaces (MIDAS). It has thermal mannequins (MATEO) which uses the principle that a human body of given mass and surface which is the subject of heat exchanges to ensure an internal temperature of 37 ° C (by producing metabolic heat between 70 and 300 W). To guarantee the tracing of the aerosols generated, analyzes by fluorometry are practiced (FluoroMax-4, Horiba-Jobin Yvon). Other devices complete the experiments: neutralizer (Palas), aerosol dilutor (TSI 3302A), aeraulic characterization devices (TSI velocimeter-thermo-hygrometer, mass flowmeters) and characterization of indoor air quality (pressure, CO2: TESTO 435-2). Note that a computer station dedicated to digital simulation with ANSYS Fluent v17 completes the entire experimental setup.

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Anglais)

Descriptif, objectifs

Le CERTES dispose d’un pool de dispositifs expérimentaux attribués à la thématique QAI-STA permettant de réaliser des mesures et des analyses/tests pour la caractérisation physique des aérosols en conditions contrôlées. L’acquisition de ce matériel a été financée par les appels d’offre investissement de l’UPEC ou de la région, par des contrats avec des EPIC, par des financements ANR ou autres.

Dispositifs de mesures de concentrations en aérosols

Le CERTES dispose de moyens de mesure de concentrations en nombre en aérosols totaux : CNC-3022 (TSI) et  CNC-3025 (TSI) pour détecter des particules de diamètre respectivement supérieur à 0,008 µm et 0,003 µm.

Les moyens de caractériser la distribution granulométrique des aérosols en nombre comprennent un compteur optique GRIMM (diamètres optiques compris entre 0,3 et 20 µm) et deux spectromètres : un spectromètre PALAS-WELAS digital 2000 pour détecter des particules de diamètre optique compris entre  200 nm et 100 µm et un spectromètre à temps de vol particulaire TSI/APS (Aerosol Particle sizer) pour des particules entre 0,5 et 20 µm. Un impacteur en cascade 20-800 de Tisch Environmental permet par mesure gravimétrique de distribuer et de collecter des aérosols sur 8 plateaux d’impaction dans la gamme de taille 0,43-10 µm.

Dispositifs de génération d’aérosols

Différents dispositifs permettent de générer les aérosols : un générateur d’aérosols polydispersés type atomiseur TSI-3075 produit un aérosol de 0,02 à 0,3 µm avec une concentration de 107 #/cm3. Un générateur d’aérosols monodispersés TSI-VOAG 3450 peut générer sous forme liquide ou solide dans la gamme de 1 à 200 µm. Le laboratoire dispose également d’un générateur de gouttes permettant de simuler les émissions oropharyngées (taille de gouttes entre 22 et 40 µm) avec un système aéraulique permettant de produire un jet d’air turbulent dans des conditions correspondant à la respiration (1 m/s), la parole (5 m/s), la toux (10 m/s). Ces matériels sont associés à des filtres à air pour l’alimentation des générateurs TSI-3074B, acceptant un débit jusque 56 L/min à 2°C avec une pression maximale à l’entrée de 1000 kPa.

Dispositifs de prélèvements des aérosols

La collecte des particules (10 lpm) est possible par les dispositifs de collecte CIP 10-INRS munis d’une coupelle rotative en plastique munie d’une mousse ou directement dans un liquide selon différentes versions disponibles. Un biocollecteur d’air Coriolis µ (Bertin instruments) basé sur la technologie cyclonique collecte et concentre les particules aéroportées de bioaérosols dans un liquide à haut débit d’air (300 lpm). L’impacteur en cascade permet de prélever les aérosols inhalés ou respirés par impaction inertielle.

Bancs expérimentaux et dispositifs complémentaires :

Le CERTES a construit des bancs expérimentaux pour la mesure d’interactions et de dépôts des aérosols sur les surfaces (MIDAS). Il dispose de mannequins thermiques (MATEO) qui utilise le principe qu’un corps humain de masse et surface données qui fait l’objet d’échanges thermiques pour assurer une température interne de 37°C (en produisant une chaleur métabolique comprise entre 70 et 300 W). Pour garantir le traçage des aérosols générés, des analyses par fluorométrie sont pratiquées (FluoroMax-4, Horiba-Jobin Yvon). D’autres dispositifs complètent les expériences : neutraliseur (Palas), diluteur d’aérosols (TSI 3302A), dispositifs de caractérisation aéraulique (vélocimètre-thermo-hygromètre TSI, débitmètres massiques) et caractérisation de qualité d’air intérieur (pression, CO: TESTO 435-2). A noter qu’une station informatique dédiée à la simulation numérique avec ANSYS Fluent v17 complète l’ensemble du dispositif expérimental.