This post is also available in: Français (French)

The PROTHERM platform is a technical platform composed of laboratory instruments for the experimental characterization of materials. This platform is mostly used by researchers of the OPTIMISTHE theme, but also available to researchers of other themes (OSED and QAI-STA) and to the company THEMACS Engineering (under convention with the UPEC). In addition, this platform can be used for services. The devices constituting this technical platform are either commercial devices or experimental devices designed and manufactured at CERTES. These devices can be grouped into several categories.

Thermophysical Characterization Devices

Hot-Disk
Commercial device for the measurement (in transient regime) of the thermal conductivity and diffusivity of various materials (polymers, composites, metals, building materials, minerals and ceramics). The device is coupled to an oven allowing measurements from room temperature up to 300 ° C.

DICO
Device developed by the CERTES allowing the measurement of the conductivity and the thermal diffusivity in periodic regime. This device is used for weakly conductive materials: polymers, composites, wood, gypsum, concrete, glasses and allows measurements from -20 ° C to + 120 ° C. The measurements can also be performed at different pressures (between 1000 and 10-4 mbar). An extension of the method allowing the characterization of anisotropic materials is under development.

Read more

PCGT – Guarded Hot-Plate in transient mode
Device developed by the CERTES allowing the measurement of the thermal resistance of samples or to carry out thermal cycles adapted to the study of the storage / destocking of energy of samples including Phase Change Materials (PCM)

FISOMP
This device allows studying the fusion-crystallization kinetics of Phase Change Materials (PCM). A fast high resolution camera allows the tracking of fusion fronts.

Thermal Analysis Devices

DSC (Perkin-Elmer)
This apparatus allows the measurement of the specific heat capacity of materials or the determination of the phase transition temperatures and enthalpies of materials. It allows the characterization of any type of samples from -130 ° C to 600 ° C. Only quantities of a few tens of milligrams can be studied.

ATG (Perkin-Elmer)
This apparatus allows a follow-up of the evolution of the mass of samples of a few tens of milligrams as a function of the temperature. The applications are for example the determination of the degradation temperature of materials or the measurement of water content. This device can be coupled to the FTIR spectrometer of the laboratory so as to perform in parallel an analysis of gaseous compounds emitted as a function of temperature.

DMA (TA Instruments)

This device allows measurement of the viscosity or shear modulus of materials as a function of frequency and temperature. This allows the study of phase transitions and mechanical relaxations in materials, especially in polymers and composite materials.

Spectromètre Diélectrique (AMTEK)
This device allows measurement of the dielectric permittivity of materials (in the form of thin films) as a function of frequency and temperature. This allows the study of phase transitions and dielectric relaxations in materials, including polymers and composite materials.

Optical Characterization Devices

UV-Visible-NIR Spectrometer (Perkin-Elmer Lambda)
This spectrometer allows measurements in the spectral band ranging from 190 nm to 2500 nm. It is equipped with an integrating sphere, which makes it possible to carry out measurements of transmission and specular or diffuse reflexion.

FTIR Spectrometer (Perkin-Elmer Frontier)
This spectrometer allows measurements in the spectral band ranging from 1.5 to 40 μm. Various accessories are available for measuring transmission or specular reflection, absorption measurements of solid or liquid materials (ATR device) and gases. In addition, an integrating sphere provided with a cooled MCT detector makes it possible to carry out reflectance and emissivity measurements.

Portable Emissometers EM1 et EM2
These portable devices have been developed for on-site pavement characterization. They can also be used in the laboratory or for measurements on building walls. Two spectral bands are available (1-40μm or 7-14μm).

SPIDER

This device, still under development, allows to measure directional emissivity (variations of emissivity as a function of emission angle). The device has been validated for different types of materials (metals, polymers, glass). It is being validated for building materials and infrastructure (mineral materials with high granularity).

Infrared cameras and Non-Destructive Testing using IR Thermography

Infrared Cameras
PROTHERM platform uses several IR cameras:

  • Portable FLUKE TI32 camera, microbolometers, 7 – 14µm, 320 x 240 pixels
  • FLIR A325 camera, microbolometers, 7 – 14µm, 320 x 240 pixels
  • FLIR SC7000 camera, Stirling cooled detector, 7.7 – 9.2µm, 320 x 256 pixels

Non-Destructive Testing
An active infrared thermography NDT test bench allows the detection of defects in different kinds of materials (polymers, composites, building materials and road infrastructure, heritage materials). Thermal excitation of materials can be performed using halogen lamps (up to 4 x 500W) or Flash (up to 4 x 3200 J).

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Anglais)

La plateforme PROTHERM est un plateau technique d’instruments de laboratoire de caractérisation des matériaux. Cette plateforme est très majoritairement utilisée par les chercheurs de la thématique OPTIMISTHE, mais également mise à disposition des chercheurs des autres thématiques (OSED et QAI-STA) et de la société THEMACS Ingénierie (sous convention avec l’UPEC). Par ailleurs, cette plateforme peut être utilisée pour des prestations. Les appareils constituant ce plateau technique sont soit des appareils commerciaux, soit des dispositifs expérimentaux conçus et réalisés au CERTES. Ces appareils peuvent être groupés en plusieurs catégories

Dispositifs de caractérisation de propriétés thermophysiques

Hot-Disk
Dispositif commercial permettant la mesure de la conductivité et de la diffusivité thermique en régime transitoire de divers matériaux (polymères, composites, métaux, matériaux de construction, minéraux et céramiques). Le dispositif est couplé à un four permettant des mesures de l’ambiante à 300°C.

DICO
Dispositif développé par le CERTES permettant la mesure de la conductivité et de la diffusivité thermique en régime périodique de matériaux faiblement conducteurs : polymères, composites, bois, gypse, béton, verres. Ce dispositif permet des mesures de -20°C à +120°C. Les mesures peuvent être par ailleurs effectuées à différentes pressions (entre 1000 et 10-4 mbar). Une extension de la méthode permettant la caractérisation de matériaux anisotropes est en cours de développement.

En savoir plus

PCGT – Plaque Chaude Gardée en régime Transitoire
Dispositif développé par le CERTES permettant la mesure de la résistance thermique d’échantillons ou bien de réaliser des cycles thermiques adaptés à l’étude du stockage/déstockage d’énergie d’échantillons incluant des matériaux à changement de phase (MCP)

FISOMP
Ce dispositif est un banc d’étude de la cinétique de fusion-cristallisation de matériaux à changements de phase. Une caméra rapide à haute résolution permet le suivi de fronts de fusion.

Dispositifs d’analyse thermique

DSC (Perkin-Elmer)
Cet appareillage permet la mesure de la capacité thermique massique de matériaux ou bien la détermination des températures de changement d’état de matériaux et enthalpies associées. Il permet la caractérisation de tout type d’échantillons de -130°C à 600°C. Seules des quantités de quelques dizaines de milligrammes peuvent être étudiées.

ATG (Perkin-Elmer)
Cet appareillage est une balance placée dans un four permettant ainsi un suivi de l’évolution de la masse d’échantillons de quelques dizaines de milligrammes en fonction de la température. Les applications sont par exemple la détermination de la température de dégradation des matériaux ou bien la mesure de la teneur en eau. Ce dispositif peut être couplé au spectromètre FTIR du laboratoire de manière à réaliser en parallèle une analyse des composés gazeux émis en fonction de la température.

DMA (TA Instruments)
Cet appareil permet la mesure de la viscosité ou bien du module de cisaillement de matériaux en fonction de la fréquence et de la température. Ceci permet l’étude des transitions de phase et relaxations mécaniques dans les matériaux, notamment les polymères et les matériaux composites.

Spectromètre Diélectrique (AMTEK)
Cet appareil permet la mesure de la permittivité diélectrique de matériaux (sous forme de films minces) en fonction de la fréquence et de la température. Ceci permet l’étude des transitions de phase et relaxations diélectriques dans les matériaux, notamment les polymères et les matériaux composites.

Dispositifs de caractérisation optique

Spectromètre UV-Visible-NIR (Perkin-Elmer Lambda)
Ce spectromètre permet des mesures dans la bande spectrale allant de 190 nm à 2500 nm. Il est équipé d’une sphère intégrante, ce qui permet de réaliser des mesures de transmission et de réflexion spéculaire ou diffuse.

Spectromètre FTIR (Perkin-Elmer Frontier)
Ce spectromètre permet des mesures dans la bande spectrale allant de 1,5 à 40 µm. Différents accessoires sont disponibles permettant de réaliser des mesures en transmission ou en réflexion spéculaire, des mesures d’absorption de matériaux solides ou liquides (dispositif ATR) et de gaz. Par ailleurs, une sphère intégrante munie d’un détecteur MCT refroidi permet de réaliser des mesures de réflectance et d’émissivité.

Emissomètres portables EM1 et EM2
Ces appareils portables ont été développés pour la caractérisation sur site de revêtements de chaussées. Ils peuvent également être utilisés en laboratoire ou bien pour des mesures sur des parois de bâtiments. Deux bandes spectrales sont disponibles (1-40µm ou 7-14µm)

SPIDER
Ce dispositif encore en cours de développement permet de réaliser des mesures d’indicatrices d’émission (variations de l’émissivité en fonction de l’angle d’observation). L’appareil a été validé pour différents types de matériaux (métaux, polymères, verres). Il est en cours de validation pour des matériaux de construction et d’infrastructures (matériaux minéraux à forte granularité).

Caméras Thermiques et Banc de Contrôle Non Destructif par Thermographie infrarouge

Caméras thermiques
La plateforme PROTHERM utilise diverses caméras thermiques :

  • Caméra portable FLUKE TI32, microbolomètres, 7 – 14µm, 320 x 240 pixels
  • Caméra FLIR A325, microbolomètres, 7 – 14µm, 320 x 240 pixels
  • Caméra FLIR SC7000, caméra à détecteur refroidi par Stirling, 7,7 – 9,2µm, 320 x 256 pixels

Banc de CND
Un banc de CND par thermographie infrarouge active permet la détection de défauts dans différentes sortes de matériaux (polymères, composites, matériaux de construction et d’infrastructures routières, matériaux du patrimoine). L’excitation thermique des matériaux peut être effectuée à l’aide de lampes halogènes (jusqu’à 4 x 500W) ou de Flash (jusqu’à 4 x 3200 J).