This post is also available in: Français (French)

The research theme OPTIMISTHE (Optimization of the thermal properties of materials and inspection of structures by thermography) concerns two aspects:

  • The design and characterization of innovative materials for buildings and civil engineering;
  • The development of in-situ diagnostic methods for buildings and civil engineering infrastructure.

The work of this research theme is both experimental and of modeling and numerical simulation.

Optimization of thermal properties of materials

This first topic of research aims to test in the laboratory innovative solutions for the design of materials with specific thermal properties with application in the field of construction. In addition, the materials developed are then tested at the scale of walls in order to test their performance in real-life situations.

The materials considered primarily are:

  • Building and insulation materials including renewable bio-based resources: the aim here is to include currently undervalued natural materials (mainly plant fibres) from conventional building materials (gypse, concrete, etc.) or to use undervalued renewable resources (date palm wood, Posidonia Oceanica…) or plants with low environmental impact (e.g. flax fibers).
  • Building materials including phase-change materials (MCP) for temporary energy storage: one of the applications of these materials aims to improve the comfort of buildings by limiting heating and/or air conditioning consumption through temporary storage of energy in latent heat form. The second application concerns the preservation of a positive surface temperature of road pavements in winter conditions, which would limit the use of saline solutions that have a high cost and a high environmental impact. Different solutions (type and packaging of MCPs) are tested according to the applications involved. An important part of this research axis concerns the intensification of heat transfers in these materials, necessary for optimizing the phenomenon of energy storage/destocking.

Inspection of structures by thermography

This second area of research concerns the use of infrared thermography as a quantitative diagnostic tool. Two applications are targeted:

  • Diagnosis of thermal insulation of building walls: this theme is currently being addressed in the framework of the ANR RESBATI project, which aims to develop a device to measure the thermal resistance of building walls. This device must be able to be used for the diagnosis of existing buildings, self-control on site and a diagnosis at the reception of works (new or renovation). This project is carried out in collaboration with CSTB, LNE, IFSTTAR, CEREMA, THEMACS Engineering and AFNOR. At the same time, researchs to develop methods for detecting and quantifying energy losses by thermal bridges (irregularities particularly related to thermal insulation attachment systems) has been undertaken in collaboration with Saint-Gobain Research Paris company.
  • Road infrastructure monitoring: this work involves the development of methods for early detection of non-emerging defects in road pavements on the one hand and thermal mapping of roads in order to locate areas of high risk of ice occurrence in winter conditions, allowing for a limitation of salting operations of roads. This research is carried out in collaboration with CEREMA, IFSTTAR and THEMACS Engineering.

This work requires numerous characterizations of optical properties of materials (emissivity, albedo). Specific measurement devices are developed to study these properties in-situ.

Materials

The OPTIMISTHE theme manages two experimental platforms:

  • The PROTHERM platform which is a pool of laboratory exeprimental devices for the characterization of thermophysical properties (thermal conductivity and diffusivity, emissivity, solar reflection factor) and thermal analysis studies (Cp and phase transition temperature measurements by DSC, thermogravimetric analysis with analysis of IR spectrometry degradation compounds, viscosity and module measurements shear, dielectric permittivity measures) of the materials studied in the context of research projects. The platform includes both commercial devices and home-made experimental benches developed by the CERTES.
  • The PANISSE platform, which is an occupied residential building, instrumented during a renovation operation in 2011. This building is used for testing methods of diagnosis the insulation of building walls in real conditions. The building will be used in particular in the framework of the ANR RESBATI project. The PANISSE platform has been labelled “Observation Service” of OSU EFLUVE.It is co-led by CERTES and THEMACS Engineering.

Members of the OPTIMISTHE Theme

  • Abderrahim BOUDENNE, HDR Associated Professor, CNU Section 62
  • Yves CANDAU, Professor, CNU Section 60
  • Nawal CHENNOUF, PhD student
  • Nicolas DUJARDIN, Associated Professor, CNU Section 33
  • Moussa ELIDI, PhD student
  • Vincent FEUILLET, Associated Professor, CNU Section 62
  • Magali FOIS, Associated Professor, CNU Section 62
  • Adrien FRANÇOIS, PhD student
  • Thanh-Tung HA, PhD student
  • Ons HAMDAOUI, Assistant Professor (ATER)
  • Laurent IBOS, HDR Associated Professor, CNU Section 63, Theme Coordinator
  • Mustapha KARKRI, HDR Associated Professor, CNU Section 62
  • Manel KRA-EM, PhD student
  • Mohamed LARBI YOUCEF, Researcher
  • Atef MAZIOUD, Associated Professor, CNU Section 62
  • Thibault PERIN, UPEC Study Engineer, thermal analysis, maintenance of the PROTHERM platform
  • Thouraya SALEM, ATER

The OPTIMISTHE theme also regularly welcomes PhD students as well as visiting professors from foreign universities.

OPTIMISTHE

International Journal Articles

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Anglais)

Les travaux de recherche de la thématique OPTIMISTHE (Optimisation des propriétés thermiques des matériaux et inspection des structures par thermographie) concernent deux aspects :

  • Le développement et la caractérisation de matériaux innovants pour le domaine du bâtiment ;
  • La mise au point de méthodes de diagnostic in-situ pour les bâtiments et les infrastructures de génie civil.

Les travaux de la thématique sont à la fois des travaux expérimentaux et des travaux de modélisation et de simulation numérique.

Optimisation des propriétés thermiques des matériaux

Ce premier axe de recherche a pour vocation à tester en laboratoire de nouvelles solutions pour la mise au point de matériaux à propriétés thermiques spécifiques ayant une application dans le domaine de la construction. Par ailleurs, les matériaux mis au point sont ensuite testés à l’échelle d’une paroi afin de tester leurs performances en situation réelle.

Les matériaux considérés principalement sont les suivants :

  • Les matériaux de construction et d’isolation incluant des ressources bio-sourcées renouvelables : le but est ici d’inclure dans des matériaux de construction classiques (gypse, béton…) des matériaux naturels (fibres végétales essentiellement) issus de ressources renouvelables actuellement pas ou peu valorisées (bois de palmier dattier, Posidonia Oceanica…) ou de plantes à faible impact environnemental (fibres de lin par exemple).
  • Les matériaux de construction incluant des matériaux à changement de phase (MCP) permettant un stockage temporaire d’énergie. L’une des applications de ces matériaux vise à améliorer le confort des bâtiments en limitant les consommations de chauffage et/ou de climatisation grâce au stockage temporaire d’énergie par chaleur latente. La deuxième application concerne le maintien d’une température de surface positive des chaussées en conditions hivernales, ce qui permettrait de limiter le recours à l’usage de solutions salines qui ont un coût important et un impact environnemental élevé. Différentes solutions (type et conditionnement des MCP) sont testées en fonction des applications visées. Un volet important de cet axe de recherche concerne l’intensification des transferts de chaleur dans ces matériaux, nécessaire à l’optimisation du phénomène de stockage/déstockage d’énergie.

Inspection des structures par thermographie

Ce deuxième axe de recherche concerne l’utilisation de la thermographie infrarouge comme outil de diagnostic quantitatif. Deux applications sont visées :

  • Le diagnostic de l’isolation thermique de parois de bâtiments : ce thème est actuellement traité dans le cadre du projet ANR RESBATI qui vise à la mise au point d’un appareil de mesure de la résistance thermique de parois de bâtiments. Cet appareil doit pouvoir être utilisé pour du diagnostic de bâtiments existants, de l’auto-contrôle sur chantiers et un diagnostic à la réception de travaux (neuf ou rénovation).Ce projet est réalisé en collaboration avec le CSTB, le LNE, l’IFSTTAR, le CEREMA, THEMACS Ingénierie et l’AFNOR. En parallèle, des travaux de recherche visant à développer des méthodes de détection et de quantification des déperditions énergétiques par les ponts thermiques (irrégularités notamment liées aux systèmes de fixation d’isolants thermiques) ont été entrepris en collaboration Saint-Gobain Recherche.
  • Le monitoring des infrastructures routières : ces travaux concernent la mise au point de méthodes de détection précoce de défauts non émergents dans les revêtements de chaussées d’une part et le suivi thermique « thermal mapping » d’itinéraires routiers afin de localiser les zones où le risque d’occurrence de verglas en conditions hivernales est le plus élevé, ce qui permet de réaliser un salage mieux ciblé des routes. Ces travaux de recherche sont menés en collaboration avec le CEREMA, l’IFSTTAR et THEMACS Ingénierie.

Ces travaux nécessitent de nombreuses caractérisations des propriétés optiques des matériaux (émissivité, albedo notamment). Des dispositifs de mesure de terrain sont développés afin de pouvoir étudier ces propriétés in-situ.

Moyens Matériels

La thématique OPTIMISTHE s’appuie sur deux plateformes expérimentales :

  • La plateforme PROTHERM qui constitue un regroupement de différents appareillages de laboratoire permettant de déterminer les propriétés thermophysiques (conductivité et diffusivité thermique, émissivité, facteur de réflexion solaire) des matériaux étudiés dans le cadre de projets de recherche, et d’effectuer des études d’analyse thermique (mesures de Cp et de température de transition de phase par DSC, analyse thermogravimétrique avec analyse des composés de dégradation par spectrométrie IR, mesures de viscosité et de module de cisaillement, mesures de permittivité diélectrique). La plateforme regroupe à la fois des dispositifs commerciaux et des bancs de mesure développés en interne au laboratoire.
  • La plateforme PANISSE, qui est un immeuble d’habitation occupé, instrumenté lors d’une opération de rénovation en 2011. Cet immeuble est utilisé pour le test de méthodes de diagnostic de l’isolation de parois de bâtiments en conditions réelles. Le bâtiment va notamment servir dans le cadre du projet ANR RESBATI. La plateforme PANISSE a été labellisée « Service d’observation » de l’OSU EFLUVE. Elle est co-pilotée par le CERTES et la société THEMACS Ingénierie.

Membres de la Thématique OPTIMISTHE

  • Abderrahim BOUDENNE, Maître de Conférences HDR, Section CNU 62
  • Yves CANDAU, Professeur, Section CNU 60
  • Nawal CHENNOUF, Doctorante
  • Nicolas DUJARDIN, Maître de Conférences, Section CNU 33
  • Moussa ELIDI, Doctorant
  • Vincent FEUILLET, Maître de Conférences, Section CNU 62
  • Magali FOIS, Maître de Conférences, Section CNU 62
  • Adrien FRANÇOIS, Doctorant
  • Thanh-Tung HA, Doctorant
  • Ons HAMDAOUI, ATER
  • Laurent IBOS, Maître de Conférences HDR, Section CNU 63, coordinateur de la thématique
  • Mustapha KARKRI, Maître de Conférences HDR, Section CNU 62
  • Manel KRAÏEM, Doctorante
  • Mohamed LARBI YOUCEF, Chargé de Recherche
  • Atef MAZIOUD, Maître de Conférences, Section CNU 62
  • Thibault PERIN, Ingénieur d’Etude UPEC, analyse thermique, maintenance de la plateforme PROTHERM
  • Thouraya SALEM, ATER

La thématique OPTIMISTHE accueille par ailleurs régulièrement des doctorants ainsi que des professeurs invités d’universités étrangères.

OPTIMISTHE

Articles dans revues internationales à comité de lecture